An interesting response to my email in regards to stearic acid in paracetamols. Stearic acid for those who do not know is Beef Tallow (fat).
Thank you for your recent enquiry regarding the formulation of Herron Gold Paracetamol Tablets.
You are correct in that stearic acid, which is an ingredient in this medication, can be produced from animal sources, however it is also commonly produced from vegetables. Unfortunately, there is no way to guarantee that the specific tablets you have or may buy in the future are definitely free of ingredients from animal origins, as the source of stearic acid may change from batch to batch. Simply put, based on issues such as costing and supply, one batch may use stearic acid from animal origins, while the next batch may utilise stearic acid from a vegetable source. Therefore there is no way to ensure you will always get a tablet which is suitable for vegans.
I hope this information helps
Medical Information Associate
34-36 Chandos Street
St Leonards NSW 2065
Tel: +61 (02) 8436 8376